The start

In 2011 my cousin Nanette ran the Disney World marathon and completed the Disneyland half and that peaked my interest. Plus my cousins Jean, Dodong and Todd have been doing the Disneyland half for years, and always wanted to join them. Have to admit that the reason why I started running is because I wanted to get the finishers medal.

First off I needed to get shoes that would support my plantar fasciitis and my low arches. I went to Fleet Feet and did the running test and got fitted with a good pair of Addidas. I had all the intentions to start running but it wasn’t until September that I started to run.

When I first stepped on the treadmill and started running I couldn’t even make it through a mile! But I didn’t give up. I got the App Runtastic and started logging my runs. By November I was able to run 2.5 miles in 30 minutes.

Leave a comment