Chicago 10K 2014

Second year running this race and again it was fun, a nice course, volunteers well covered, and a nice medal.

This year some friends also signed up and ran the race. It was Stacey and Faith’s first 10K, the first Chicago race for a Joy, another race that Nirma and I have run together and also saw Sebastian there too.

IMG_9171-0.JPG
The race started at 8 AM and we got there early to see the booths and stretch. The race started on time and it took us along the lakefront path and had us loop back to the start. We pretty much stayed together the first mile, but again I needed to go to the bathroom, not knowing if there would be any facilities along the course I veered off to the park bathroom just before the first mile marker.

I didn’t see the group until we came closer to the turn around. The course wasn’t closed off so we shared the path with other runners and bikers, who were very courteous in not cutting us off and shared the path.

I paced myself so that I didn’t walk until I got to the refreshment stations and walked for a bit while I drank the Gatorade and sip of water. I managed to keep my pace within 9 – 11 minute mile and that is a good pace for me. I am trying to run longer and taking less walking breaks.

When we approached Soldier Field I knew we were very close to the end, so I picked up the pace and when I saw the finish line I booked it and I finished in 1hr 8min 22sec, which is 38 seconds faster than last year.

I am very proud of Stacey and Faith for completing the race and beating me! And it was great to see Nirma, Joy and Sebastian. It was perfect weather for running and was a great start for my crazy race schedule for the next weeks!

IMG_4470-1.JPG

Leave a comment