Dopey Challenge – WDW 10K

Day two of the challenge entailed running around the vicinity of EPCOT to complete the 10K hosted by Minnie Mouse.

Once again woke up at 2:50 to get ready and travel to the start. Rick only participated in the 5K, but he got up with me and also went to the start area. I was able to wear my Canada Goose coat to keep me warm while we travelled to the start. It seemed to be a bit warmer than the day before, but having my big coat was a nice treat.

As the day before the corrals were located just left of the main stage. I joined corral C and the waiting began. Once they Released our corral, we started running on the access road where guest of EPCOT use to enter the park. When we passed mile one we had a hairpin turn and was routed on a road that began to narrow. This is where it started to get congested and was weaving around people to get through. Along this stretch I had my first character stop the hag witch from Snow White, the line was a bit long, but I have never seen this character on a course before.

When we passed mile three we could see that we were approaching the park and soon we entered the park again by Mexico and Norway. We ran through World Showcase as we did the previous day. I did stop at Germany to take a photo with Rapunzel and Flynn Ryder (Eugene Fitzpatrick) and that line was very long, but Tangled is one of my favorite movies so I waited. People were saying that the balloon ladies were about three miles away, so I wasn’t too worried. I waited for almost 30 minutes for the picture so I knew I had to run!

We exited World Showcase by France and made our way to the Boardwalk. There was a photo op for the Genie from Aladdin just when we arrived at the Boardwalk. People were saying the balloon ladies were 5 minutes behind, so I ditched the line and continued on the course. We looped around the boardwalk and made our way back to EPCOT.

We entered the park by the United Kingdom and made our way to Future World. At this point I didn’t chance it and did not make anymore stops for pictures in the event the balloon ladies got closer. We ran right through the gardens and fountain and ran to the left of Spaceship Earth and ran by the main gate so we had a view of the metal pylons in front. We looped around there and made our exit of the park to the parking area towards the finish.

Finished in 2hrs 4min 11sec. The sun was out, but it was still a bit chilly, I was very happy that Rick had my coat! We headed black to the hotel and rested a bit before we spent the day with Nanette and Nicholas in Animal Kingdom.

Leave a comment