Running with the animals

The next run I found for June I found in a newsletter that we get at work. This run was the Unite Run for the Zoo, and it took place at the Lincoln Park Zoo.

You could choose between a 5k or a 10k. Since I’ve done a couple 5k already I decided to do the 10k. The theme this year was rhinoceros and the t-shirt was is pretty cool. A good thing about these races is that I get pretty good tech shirts!

This was another fun run. There wasn’t any start corrals so we started pretty quick. The course was pretty good, mostly running by the lake. It was a bit confusing at the top of the course because at one point you had to maneuver around oncoming runners and cross between them. Then when we got closer to the zoo there was a bit of a bottleneck because we caught up to the fun walkers. But it want bad.

Even though it was a run to the zoo I can’t remember seeing any animals. Except I remember seeing the polar bear and was jealous because he was in a big pool, and I wanted to jump in because it was hot out!

I finished the 10k in 1hr 10min 12sec. I found myself getting better at my pacing, I found that the max I can run is 3 miles before I need to take a short walk and then run some more. Finishing this race made me feel even more confident in accomplishing my goal in September.

We hung out at the zoo for a bit, but had to o because we were going to a birthday pool party in the afternoon.

I am planning on doing this run again next year, I am looking forward in seeing what featured animal it will be!

20120809-185844.jpg

Leave a comment