Y-Me Race at your Pace

My sister, Claress R., told me about this race back in March and I didn’t think I would run this one. But I was hooked on these runs, so I signed up for this race for the month of May. The race took place on Mother’s Day, May 13.

This 5k was for breast cancer. It was a good cause and it was nice to see that there was a lot of people supporting the cause. But unfortunately this would be the last run for the Y-Me organization, because the just closed.

We learned from the shamrock shuffle not to drive down to the gathering area. We hopped on the Red line and commuted to downtown. We were going to meet a bunch of people and we were running late! But we made it just in time to get out team Gladiolus’ shirt and stretch.

I finished the run 28 min 56 sec, the fastest I’ve ever ran. I believe it was because of a guy that was running in our area kept on yelling “you can’t catch me!” and I was thinking yes I can!

I think I got my amount of water down in the morning because I didn’t have go this time! It was prefect weather, I found that humidity is my nemesis and I have to wear my headband high because I would get a nasty tan on my head.

I hear that there is another run next year that benefits breast cancer in the suburbs, i think our group will do that one next year since Y-Me is no longer around.

20120808-190602.jpg

Leave a comment