Elvis is Alive!

I found this race from a e-newsletter from Fleet Feet. It is a non-competitive race so it wasn’t timed and it wasn’t a closed coarse. This 5k coincided with my training schedule and I thought it would be fun to run with a bunch of Elvis’.

I was worried that it was going to rain because it rained all day. By 5:00 it stopped raining and it stayed that way for the rest of the night. My cheerers came out and we even had a little adventure trying to get to the start area which was at the Columbia Yacht club by he lakefront. They had a stage ready for the performers.

There was a lot of Elvis’ there!

20120817-202524.jpg

This was my first run with my new shoes! I believe that they are ready for the Disneyland run in 2 weeks!

20120817-202807.jpg

Everyone started at the same time so it was really crowded in the beginning. Trying to navigate around people on the lakeshore bike path was a bit of a challenge. For awhile I was running along the side in the grass. I kept up with one Elvis that actually won the best costume.

According to the clock I finished the race in 30min 23sec. I am pretty happy about my time.

At the finish they had watermelon, peanut butter and banana sandwiches and chocolate covered bananas, I later found out that it is what Elvis liked to eat. The entertainment was pretty good and it was a nice ending for the night.

Although it was a fun run and had good entertainment, I don’t know if I would do this one again. But who knows I may do it again.

20120817-204003.jpg

Leave a comment