Chicago Half Marathon 2013

A little overcast and a little humid, not too bad for this run. Even though it started at 7 we got up early to go down to Hyde Park since we were not familiar of where the start was. It was a good thing because I forgot my running watch, so we went back to go get it. We arrived in Hyde Park in enough time to find parking and walked to the starting line. It was a good thing that there was a bunch of people that parked where we were because we could of easily got lost.

The race started in Jefferson Park promptly at 7. I believe they had to do that because they closed of south Lake Shore Drive for the race and had to to open it at a certain time. I’ve noticed. That there were a lot of aid stations, I wonder if they were planning for the humidity. Which is a good idea, but I had to be aware of how the liquid effected my body, because at the Disneyland Half I stated to feel water logged from all the stations. So I skipped a couple of them.

I did better at this race. I finished at 2hrs. 42min. 21sec. At the after party they had a cover band that was pretty good, and had free pizza and beer. I just got the pizza and we walked back to the car. We took at detour through the Japanese Garden and took some pictures there.

Overall I thought it was a well organized race and a good run. This race will qualify me to get a membership into the Half Fanatics. My cousin Nanette just joined and I will be inquiring on membership tomorrow.

20130908-182151.jpg

Leave a comment