Andrews University Alumni Weekend – Harvest Run

We went up to Andrews University for alumni weekend for the 20th anniversary of AFIA. When I was looking at the events on campus and saw that there was a 5 and 10k on Sunday. Looking at my training schedule it fit in with what mileage that I would need to do.

It was drizzling and cold when we woke up so dressed appropriately. Once we got to the campus the rain stopped and the weather was perfect for running. The race course went through the campus so it was interesting going through it. There was a little snag in at registration sowe started a little late.

Once we were off we ran towards the back entrance of the campus and ran towards PMC and ran on the outskirts road towards Meier Hall, the ran through apportion of where we started and went through the university apartments. There was a little confusion at that point some people kept going and I heard that they ran all the way to kephart. Since I was towards the back I went to the correct course. This course then brought us to the academy and then brought us down the main entrance to the campus. We then ran past PMC and Meier Hall again but the we went through the dairy. At first I thought that would get neat, but didn’t realize how it would smell. So I ran faster to get out of there! At the main road there was another confusion of where the 10 and 5k runners were supposed to go. I did see a sign on where the 10k was going to go which went through the middle of campus and turning where the flag court was then turning left of the library and then right towards the science building. But once I got to the science building I couldn’t find any signs and didn’t see any more signs so I just went towards the finish line. According to my nike+ watch it wasn’t quite a 10k. It came out to be 5.89 miles, which I finished at 1hr 11min 39sec.

Not a very well planned race, but it was fun going through the campus and not running because I am late for class!

Update: apparently I came in 3rd in my age group so hey sent me a bronze medal.
20130929-200444.jpg

Leave a comment