Chicago Spring Half 2015

May 17 was this years Chicago Spring Half and they combined this race with the Michelob Ultra 13.1 so this year there will be only 2 races for the Chicago Series. I still have to sign up for the Chicago Half.

I had all the intentions to get up early and get to the race early. But I set my alarm an hour late, and if it wasn’t for Mel texting me that the bathroom lines were long, I wouldn’t of realized how late it was. So I got ready very quickly and we drove downtown.

We arrived around 6:40 and we found Mel and we headed to the corrals. I was in corral G and Mel was in H. I joined Mel in H so that we can start together. It was a mild morning and it was forecasted to rain. Once we started we followed the lake front path towards the museum campus. I lost Mel around the first mile when I stopped to use the bathroom.  I didn’t see her until I approached the turnaround.

While we were running south there was an unfortunate incident, there was a lot of sirens and I saw a ambulance, I then saw a group of people on the side surrounding a guy that was being resuscitated. I really hope that they were able to help him and that it turned out well.

The focast called for rain and it drizzled a bit, but it didn’t bother me. Overall the weather was moderate and was good for running.

Mile 9.  That was when my ankle started hurting. It actually started around mile 8, but it wasn’t till mile 9 that I stopped running and walked the majority of the race. A couple weeks back while we were one Philippines while we were out for a walk I sprained my ankle and from this run I felt that it wasn’t completely healed.

Although I don’t know who this person is and a slim chance that she will see this. I have to give a shout out and thank the woman that ran passed by me, but while she passed me the rubbed and patted my back. Just that little acknowledgement kept my spirits up and helped me continue on. Also that guy that gave me the thumbs up and a woohoo when we approached the 11th mile mark. That’s  what I like about the running community, they are very encouraging and help boost the other runners. I always try to send encouraging words to those who are struggling and I am glad to see that others do that too.

This is the worst finish time to date, but at least I finished with jogging the last .10 miles. I finished the race in 3hrs 34min 35sec.   The medal is a pretty nice one this year and again got a plant, the one I got last year grew really big.  I am currently icing my ankle and hope that it gets better before my next race.

Leave a comment