Soldier Field 10 Miler 2015

May 23 I ran the 10 mile run starting and ending at Soldier Field. I was wary about running this because of last week when I ran the Chicago Spring Half my ankle was acting up from the sprain I got while I was in the Philippines. So I went to an orthopedic doctor and got it checked out. The x-Rays showed no breaks or fractures and the doctor gave the OK for me to run.  With his approval I ran.

Woke up early and got ready.  Just to be cautious Rick taped my foot to give me support and to stabilize my ankle. We left early, but with free parking it took awhile to park, but once we did it was really close to the corrals. There wasn’t time to go into the stands to take pictures, so I went to the corrals. I was placed in the orange corral.

In the opening events they had a moment of silence for the fallen soldiers since last year’s run and they played Taps. Then the national anthem was sung and then they started the run. It took awhile until my corral was released. Once we were released we started on the street just outside of the stadium and went south.

When we passed the McCormick place the route took on the northbound side of Lake Shore Drive. We were on the drive for awhile then they brought us back along the lakefront path. It was the same path that I ran last week, so it brought back memories of when my ankle started to hurt. But this run was much better than last week. My ankle was sore, but it didn’t hurt as it did that made me have to walk. I took a bunch of walking breaks to give my ankle a rest.

I was able to finish strong and run the race without any ankle issues.  I finished in 2hrs 13min 19sec my pace was better than last week and my recovery was way much better. The day turned out really nice, the sub came out and it was a really nice day for a run.  Once we entered the stadium’ we ran on the green and finished on the 50 yard line. This is one of my favorite races, it’s always well organized, the route was well supported and you get to finish on the field and get your medal awarded by armed service men and women in their uniform. It was a great day and a great way to start our Memorial Day weekend.

Leave a comment