Proud To Run Chicago

June 27 the annual Proud to Run 5k and 10k starts the weekend of Pride weekend festivities. I signed up for the 10k which started at 8:05 in the morning. It was a brisk morning, but at least the sun was out and the rain from the day before stopped. We arrived at the start at 7:00 and was able to stretch and loosen up before the race.

The race started by the lakefront by Montrose and went north up to Foster then we turned around and went south. We went down to to the just before Belmont. Luckily there was a park bathroom there because they didn’t have any along the way. When we turned around and went back north towards the finish. When we got to the bird sanctuary by Montrose there was a little confusement to where we’re were supposed to go, the guy that was supposed to direct us didn’t, if I didn’t ask him I would of went the wrong way.

We finished back at Montrose, where I finished at 1hr 18min and 53min. Still not at my regular pace, but getting better. This was a nice race, and good course and a nice medal. Didn’t stay too long because had to go out to the suburbs to see my relatives that came up for the weekend.

Leave a comment