Red White and Boom Half Marathon

In my quest of completing of running the Midwest halfs and eventually the states I found this race and in Minnesota. With it being on the 4th of July we made it a road trip to Rick’s moms and planned a bbq for the family.

The race started at 6:30 in the morning so we left the house early, luckily the day before we scoped out the starting point so we knew where we had to go.  Rick’s sister Sandy and her husband Danny came up for the weekend and joined us for the race.  As usual the line to the bathroom was really long so I decided to wait for the first bathroom stop.

The race started on time.  There wasn’t any corrals, we just lined up at the finish time we expected. We started on Main and went north, then we went over a bridge and ran through a residential area.  Just after the second mile the had the first bathroom and I couldn’t hold it any longer. Unfortunately there was a long line, I lost about 20 min. waiting in line. So by the time I started up again the crowd of runners thinned out.

Then we went over another bridge and turned right on a parkway that went past a golf course. That stretch was pretty nice. The course of was actually nice, but there were a bunch of inclines and it started to get humid. Also there were not that many spectators along the course.  When we crossed a bridge along the northern part of the course we were back to the business district.

When we got closer to the finish I saw Rick and started running towards the finish. The last part of the course was through a cobblestone street so I had to be careful. I saw Sandy and Danny with my sign and I booked it towards the finish line. I finished in 3 hrs 11min 23min. Still not back at my normal pace, but going to try to get at least under 3hrs hopefully for the RnR in a couple of weeks.

image

Leave a comment