Chicago Rock n Roll 5K

I signed up for the Remix Challege again this year and it started with the 5k on Saturday, July 18. It has been a weird summer in Chicago this year. The weather has been cool for the past couple of weeks and today summer definitely came.

The race started at 6:30 and we got there about 5:45. The morning wasn’t too hot yet, but the sun was out and you can tell it was going to get hot. Once I got closer to the start line I saw Dave Mari, so said hello and took a few pictures. The Chicago RnR weekend wouldn’t be complete without running into Dave. Didn’t chat too long because as usual, had to use the facilities.  They placed them a bit away from the start, but there wasn’t a line.

I was placed in corral 5, I believe that they had 12 corrals.  I think they increased the capacity of the runners because there was a lot more people than last year.

The start was at the lakefront path near the Columbia Yacht Club. We ran south.  Once we arrived at the museum campus we took a right and went through the bridge that is under Lake Shore Drive.  From there we ran north through a part of Grant Park and looped around and went back toward the museum campus. At around the 1.5 mark they had the only water station. They should of had one more because by mile 1 it was getting hot. Once we ran back to the museum campus the route went back north towards the finish line.

I finished in 40min and 48sec. At the end we met up with the Tortals whch Dave and Sharon will be also doing the half the next day.  I thought that my new shoes were broken in enough, but I don’t think it is ready for a long run, so I will go back to my previous shoes for tommorow’s half to complete the Remix Challenge.

imageP

Leave a comment