Infinity Gauntlet Challenge – Dr. Strange 10k 

I have to say I did not know not too much about Dr. Strange, just that it is a Marvel character and his movie just came out with Benedict Cumberbach. So I didn’t know what to expect with the theme of the race. This is part one of the Infinity Gauntlet Challenge so had to complete this run in order to get awarded the challenge medal. This is the race that I dressed up and this year I ran as Thor. I found a tech Thor shirt with a cape, his headpiece and his hammer on line which turned out to look good.

Got up at 3:30 to get ready and travel to our start corrals. My cousin Nanette also was doing the challenge so met up with her. We started in corral D and was able to get to the front to see the pre race stuff at the start line and for the national anthem.  When we were released we went down Disneyland Drive all the way down to the Anaheim Convention Center.  The course seemed to be similar to the Disneyland 10k I did back in September.

We entered the Disney property at the entrance at Disney Way and Harbor Drive. We followed the service streets and entered Cars Land by the Radiator Springs Racers. This time they directed down the main drag of Radiator Springs and turned left through Pacific Wharf towards Paradise Pier. We exited California Adventure just after Hollywood Land and exited where the Red Trolley stand is by the Tower of Terror. They started covering the tower for the renovations for the Guardians of the Galaxy, but they still have it operating until Jan 2017.

We were routed on the east side service roads, through the tram drop off and ran up towards Disneyland. We entered from the north right into Toon Town. We followed the route towards Autotopia and Finding Nemo submarines. One thing I like about the area is that the had the seagulls from Finding Nemo that kept on saying “Mine” like n the movie. We then went through Tomorrowland and took a quick right at the hub and ran towards the Matterhorn mountain. We entered Fantasyland by Alice in Wonderland ride and stayed in the perimeter of King Arthur’s Carousel and ran towards the castle. We went through the castle and up Main Street and exited to the right into Downtown Disney and on to the finish right by the Disneyland Hotel.

The lines were very long with the characters, but I waited for Spider-Man. I took my usual photos at the mile markers and around the parks.  I stayed with Nanette for most of the run, but lost her when I had a bathroom break and then I saw Spider-Man.  They had some references about Dr. Strange along the course, but I didn’t know what they were about, hopefully when we see the movie I will get the references. I finished in 1hr. 29min. 24sec. I’ve enjoyed the 10k races at Disneyland because you spend a lot of time in the two parks.

11/18/16 Update: RunDisney released the finisher certificate for the 10k

 

binder1_page_1

Leave a comment