Dopey Challenge Recap

I did it! When they debuted this challenge in 2014 I never thought I would actually do it.

2018 marked the 5 year anniversary of the Dopey Challenge and 25 year anniversary of the Marathon, so when the registration opened in February of 2017, I thought why not?

It’s crazy to think that I finished a 5k, 10k, Half Marathon and Marathon in four consecutive days in an upright position and have recovered pretty well. Although I found out that I needed to replenish my electrolytes because I had some stomach issues the following days. Luckily we brought extra Gatorade and that fixed me up right away.

By completing this challenge I also completed the Goofy’s race and a half challenge and received a medal for that too. Over the weekend I obtained 6 medals.

Since the Chicago Marathon I’ve been telling myself that this is the last Marathon, and after this weekend I believe it is. i am hanging up my Marathon shoes and sticking to Half Marathons instead.

I had a great experience with the races, I always have fun in a Disney race. Probably will not do this challenge again, once is more than enough for me!

2018 Event Guide

Leave a comment