Dopey Challenge – WDW Marathon

The final day of the challenge, the Marathon hosted by Mickey Mouse.

I’ve entered this challenge with the mindset of having fun and to listen to my body and take it easy when it is telling me not to push too hard. The week before we arrived at WDW both Rick and I were really sick with a very bad cold that we caught over Christmas. Prior to traveling we got meds and rested a lot. This totally messed up my training, where I didn’t run at all a week and half before our trip. So I came down to Florida, barely recovered and very under trained.

The final 2:50 wake up was filled with anticipation, I felt really good and was determined to complete this challenge. We got our ride to the start and lo and behold we were stuck in traffic. I started to get nervous, we didn’t arrive to the drop off station until almost 5:00 and the race started at 5:30!

Rick dropped me off at the security and I made my way to the corrals. During my long walk to the corrals I missed the National Anthem and the first wave start. I was in corral E so I had time to get to my corral. Just a few minutes when I got in my corral they closed it! The wait was very minimal and the start of my 26.2 mile tour around WDW began.

Mile 1-6

We followed the same route we took during the half the day before. Surprisingly I felt really good during this portion. Maybe it helped that I knew the route and knew the distance that was coming up. Around mile two it was pretty dark and I felt bad for a woman that must have tripped on a road reflector because she was wailing and I saw the medical bikes heading towards her. In the Magic Kingdom, i saw Rick by the castle, got a picture with Donald, Lady Tremaine and the step-sisters and with the castle.

Mile 7-14

Outside of the Magic Kingdom we made our way to the next park Animal Kingdom. We passed through some resorts and golf courses. During this stretch there was a guy that was dressed as Maui from Moana and had the soundtrack playing. When the song “Your Welcome” came up he sang along really loud. When we entered the Animal Kingdom we were at the service entrance so we got to see the back of the park. When we arrived at the 13 mile marker we were close to Expedition Everest. The balloon ladies were approximately 4 miles back I thought it would be safe to ride it. I went to the single rider line and got on the ride fairly quickly. When we exited the park I saw Rick again and he was by the haunted mansion grave diggers where I stopped to take a picture.

Mile 15-20

This stretch brought us to the dreaded section Wide World of Sports Complex. This area consisted of 3 miles of boring landscape of the complex. The only bright side of the complex was taking a picture with Mickey Mouse and Donald Duck in their baseball uniforms. It was here when an announcer said that the balloon ladies were 25 minutes away. At this point I was mostly walking and now I was concerned that I would be passed up by the balloons. But the announcer said that if we make it to the Boardwalk we are home free and would not be swept up.

Mile 21-24

I was so glad to get out of the Sports complex, but now worried about being swept up. I did stop for a quick photo with Clarabelle. The next park was Hollywood Studios, when we entered the park there was no one waiting for a photo with Oswald so I took the opportunity to snap a photo with him. We didn’t stay too long in Hollywood Studios and we were close to the point of safety, mile 24 where there are no more sweeper busses. We followed the path towards the Yacht Club resort and the Boardwalk before we entered Epcot through the United Kingdom.

Mile 25-26.2

At mile 25 they had a special mile marker to signify the 25 year anniversary of the Marathon. Of course I had to stop and take a picture. This is when I saw the balloon ladies pass me! When I took my picture, I started a light jog to catch up to the ladies. Now my goal was to finish the race before the balloon ladies. We went through the countries the opposite way that we went previously and made our way through Future World and past Spaceship Earth. The choir was there in full force on both sides of the road. i quickly took a picture with them and then proceeded to the end. I finished well before the balloon ladies and this marks my 5th Marathon!

I finished in 7hrs 39min 47sec. I am very happy that I finished the Marathon and completed the Dopey Challenge. Considering how sick I was prior to arriving in Florida, I am satisfied with my finish times. I did what I set my goal to be, have fun and taking my time.

Leave a comment