Chicago Spring Half Marathon

This year is the 10th anniversary of the Spring Half Marathon which represents the northern side of Chicago. Although we do not run in the north area, this is a 2-part series which includes the Chicago Half Marathon scheduled in September, which represents the southern side of Chicago.

This is my fifth year running this half marathon. I liked this race because it usually has cooler temperatures and they also give you a flower to plant along with your finisher medal. This year the weather was not cooperative, which made the run a little miserable towards the end.
Jo also signed up for this and we ran together for the majority of the run. The temperature was in the 40ā€™s when we arrived and got into our corral. The skies were overcast and you can feel the wind while we were waiting for our corral to get started.

SCHM

Once we started we headed south on Columbus drive and just before Roosevelt Road we veered left to the under pass that lead us towards the museum campus and connecting us to the lakeshore path going south.

We passed Shedd Aquarium, Soldier Field and McCormick Place and then began our run through the lakeside paths along Lake Michigan. We continued south until we passed 47th street, just after the six-mile marker we came to the turnaround and headed back north. The wind started to pick up and it and the cold air didnā€™t help a bit. It started to drizzle a bit, which wasnā€™t too bad and then it stopped.

Around mile 8 my feet started to hurt and I needed to take more walking breaks. By mile 9 I told my feet started getting sharp pains on the left side of my left food. I told Jo after mile 10 that if he wanted to go, to just go ahead because it was going to take me some time to finish.

For the last 5K I was taking more walking breaks, so that I wouldnā€™t injure my feet, because I have another race the following weekend. Just past mile 12 I saw Rick, paused a bit and then continued to the finish. When we reached Randolph street we took a left and went through the covered roadway until we reached Columbus Drive. When we turned onto Columbus you can see the 13-mile marker and the finish line. When I turned and made my way to the finish the rain was coming down. When I passed the 13-mile marker I started on a light jog and made it to the finish.

I finished in 3hrs 19min 24sec. I was so glad to finish. I hobbled to get my medal and to find Rick and Jo. We just hung around for a little bit and then headed back home so that I can get out of the wet clothes and into a hot shower.


615839-4930-938663

Leave a comment